Ezekiel Elliott secures second NFL rushing title while on Cowboys' sideline in Week 17

For the second time in the last three seasons, Ezekiel Elliott is the NFL's rushing champion. The Cowboys' star running back didn't need to play Sunday to secure the crown. With Dallas' playoff spot already secured, Elliott, who has averaged 29 touches over the last seven games, was given the day off.

He entered the weekend with 1,434 rushing yards, which was 183 more than second-place Todd Gurley, who didn't play Sunday because of a knee injury, and 236 yards ahead of Saquon Barkley, who rushed for 109 yards against the Cowboys.

"Zeke got his record," Cowboys owner Jerry Jones said before joking about wanting Elliott to suit up entering the fourth quarter to make sure the achievement was secure.

The Cowboys have now had three of the last five rushing champs and seven of the last 28. Emmitt Smith won it four times between 1991 and 1995. DeMarco Murray won it in 2014.

At the top

Ezekiel Elliott, despite not playing in Week 17, won the NFL rushing title with 1,434 yards. The top five rushers this season:

Rk. Player, team. Att. Yards

1. Ezekiel Elliott, Dallas. 304. 1,434

2. Saquon Barkley, NY Giants 261. 1,307

3. Todd Gurley, LA Rams. 256. 1,251

4. Joe Mixon, Cincinnati. 237. 1,168

5. Chris Carson, Seattle 247. 1,151