Cyclones celebrate 2017 football success

Iowa State celebrated a successful 2017 football season with its annual awards banquet Sunday at Hilton Coliseum.

The Cyclones finished 8-5 overall with three wins over Top 25 opponents, a Liberty Bowl victory and a fourth-place finish in the Big 12 Conference.

Seniors Allen Lazard and Joel Lanning were co-winners of the Most Valuable Player Award. Lazard also earned the honor in 2016.

Sophomore running back David Montgomery was named Outstanding Offensive Skill Player, sophomore Marcel Spears and junior Brian Peavy shared the Outstanding Defensive Skill Player Award and Josh Knipfel, Ray Lima and Garrett Owens shared the Outstanding Newcomer Award.

ISU football awards

Most valuable player — Allen Lazard, Joel Lanning

Defensive scout team player of year — Rory Walling

Offensive scout team player of year — Colin Newell

Special teams scout team player of year — Zach Silbermann

Academic award — Marchie Murdock

Consideration award — Jake Campos

Ruben J. Miller award — Bryan Larson

Outstanding newcomers of year — Josh Knipfel, Ray Lima, Garrett Owens

Outstanding walk-on — Kyle Kempt

Unsung hero — Trever Ryen, Vernell Trent

Outstanding offensive skill player — David Montgomery

Outstanding defensive skill player — Marcel Spears, Brian Peavy

Outstanding defensive lineman — J.D. Waggoner

Outstanding offensive lineman — Julian Good-Jones

Outstanding special teams player — Jack Spreen

Captain award — Allen Lazard, Joel Lanning, Brian Peavy, Jake Campos, Kamari Cotton-Moya.